Our church is led by the rector, who is appointed by the Anglican Bishop of Grafton, our honorary minister, and the Parish Council, made up of people elected by the church and people appointed by the rector.

KP Oct 2019 Flemington for web.jpg

Rev. Katie Peken - RECTOR

Katie grew up in country NSW among Merinos and pole Shorthorns, but people interest her more, so she studied Psychology and English Literature at the University of NSW. She worked as an associate lecturer in Psychology at the University of New England, before training at Moore Theological College in Sydney. She was a lay minister at St Peter’s East Lindfield in Sydney, then Family & Children’s Minister at St Jude’s Carlton in Melbourne, and Assistant Minister at Warragul Anglican Church in Gippsland, before taking up her current role.


Rev. Michael Bain - Honorary Minister

Michael ‘retired’ to South West Rocks, but has an active ministry both at the Rocks, as a member of the music team, leading services, providing pastoral care and administrative support, and taking services at South West Rocks Residential Care facility; and also in Kempsey, where he is part of the Healing Rooms team. Michael has also led Lower Macleay Anglican Church through two periods of leadership transition.


Parish Council 2019

Members of Parish Council this year are:

Sue Tyrrell - churchwarden
Stan Deveridge - churchwarden & synod lay representative
John King - churchwarden
Bev Love - elected member
Kevin Hill - synod lay representative
Anne Deveridge - elected member & parish secretary
Barrie Chataway - elected member & treasurer

people meeting with laptop notebook pen coffee dreamstime_xxl_99789308 free for web.jpg